

Republika ng Pilipinas KAGAWARAN NG KALUSUGAN NATIONAL NUTRITION COUNCIL X 2nd Floor, Door 1, Rego Building, Agoho Drive, Zone 1 Carmen, Cagayan de Oro City



REGIONAL NUTRITION COMMITTEE (RNC) X

Resolution No. 3, s. 2020

REORGANIZATION AND EXPANSION OF REGIONAL BANTAY ASIN TASK FORCE X TO INCLUDE THE CITIES OF CAGAYAN DE ORO AND ILIGAN

- WHEREAS, Republic Act 8172 of 1995 otherwise known as "An Act for Salt Iodization Nationwide (ASIN)" seeks to eliminate micronutrient deficiencies in the country, particularly Iodine Deficiency Disorders (IDD) through the cost-effective preventive measure of salt iodization;
- WHEREAS, the Regional Bantay Asin Task Force (RBATF) X as a sub-structure of the Regional Nutrition Committee X per RNC Resolution No. 1, s. of 2016, will act as the watchdog and first line of defense in ensuring that only iodized salt will reach the households in Northern Mindanao;

WHEREAS, the functions of the RBATF X are hereby streamlined as follows:

- 1. Address immediate bottlenecks that prevent assured supply of adequately-iodized salt in the local level;
- 2. Establish a level of coordination between relevant government agencies, local government, salt industry representatives and civil society groups to monitor the salt supply at the regional, provincial, city and municipal level;
- 3. Support Food and Drugs Regulation Officers and sanitary inspectors in conducting local monitoring of iodized salt; and
- 4. Sustain the launching and operationalization of Saktong Iodine sa Asin campaign in the region.
- WHEREAS, during its 2020 1st Semester Meeting, the RBATF X agreed to expand its membership through the addition of Sanitary Inspectors of the Cities of Cagayan de Oro and Iligan to strengthen National Salt Iodization Program (NSIP) promotion and advocacy at the grassroots, and as an additional arm for reinforcement of the SIP;
- WHEREAS, the RBATF X shall meet once every semester and that special meetings may be called as the need arises;
- **NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED**, to reorganize the Task Force to exclude Sinaloc Association of Local Salt Producers, which no longer exist; and to include the Sanitary Inspectors of the Cities of Cagayan de Oro and Iligan as members. The reorganized and expanded members are composed of the following:
 - 1. Department of Health Center for Health Development Northern Mindanao (DOH CHD-NM) Chairperson
 - 2. National Nutrition Council (NNC) X Secretariat
 - 3. Cooperative Development Authority X
 - 4. Department of Agriculture Regional Field Office (DA RFO) 10
 - 5. Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) X
 - 6. Department of Science and Technology (DOST) X
 - 7. Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) X
 - 8. Artemis Salt Corporation
 - 9. Arvin International Marketing Inc.



Republika ng Pilipinas KAGAWARAN NG KALUSUGAN **NATIONAL NUTRITION COUNCIL X** 2nd Floor, Door 1, Rego Building, Agoho Drive, Zone 1 Carmen, Cagayan de Oro City



10. Salinas Foods, Inc

11. Samson Salt Farm

12. Bureau of Customs X

- 13. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) X
- 14. Maritime Police X
- 15. Philippine Coast Guard X
- 16. Philippine National Police Regional Office (PNP RO) 10
- 17. Philippine Ports Authority PMO Misamis Oriental/Cagayan de Oro
- 18. Department of Education (DepEd) X
- 19. Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) X
- 20. Philippine Information Agency (PIA) X
- 21. Provincial Sanitary Inspectors of Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental
- 22. City Sanitary Inspectors of Cagayan de Oro and Iligan
- **RESOLVED FINALLY** that the copies of this resolution be forwarded to the Regional Nutrition Committee (RNC) X member agencies, members of the Task Force, the concerned local government units and other relevant partners and stakeholders for appropriate action and support;
- **RESOLVED FURTHER FINALLY** that the National Nutrition Council X shall undertake the coordinative efforts in the implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the activities of the Task Force and lead in subjecting this Resolution to a policy review three years after its effectivity.

Unanimously approved, 20th day of October 2020.

Attested by:

S MAE S. FERNANDEZ Regional Nutrition Program Coordinator National Nutrition Council X and Secretary, RNC X

Approved:

DR. ADRIANO P. SUBA-AN, CESO IV Chairperson, RNC X OIC- Regional Director IV Department of Health, CHD-Northern Mindanao